Monsters at Large (2017)

What is This?:  A cross between Ghostbusters (admitted in movie), Monster Squad, (“That’s already taken.  My dad has it on bluray and watches it all the time.”), and either E.T. or Harry and the Hendersons, I haven’t decided which. Maybe a little Monsters Inc., too.  Three kids put together a “business” “taking care of” “imaginary” monsters that scare little kids.  That is a lot of quotation marks.

Marissa Cooper?:  Mischa Barton plays the mom.  Now I want to watch the O.C.  Which will make me want to watch Rachel Bilson and Adam Brody stuff again.  I had better nip this in the bud.

The Worst Kind:  Stephen Tobolowsky, as the teacher, is the kind of teacher that is often shown in kids’ movies – the jerk.  (The other type is the uber-cool guy/weirdly hot lady.)  The biggest difference in this instance is that the teacher is shown in the light of “no fair” from the perspective of a kid, but with the kid’s behavior I am a little offended that the teacher is being shown in that light.  Granted, he’s a jerky jerk at the end, but when the main kid, played  by Matthew Kosto, just spaces out instead of taking his test, the teacher is shown as being mean, when in reality it was the kid’s own damn fault.  I started liking the main character a little less because of it.

Golden Girl:  So, the main character has a crush.  And she is a little blonde girl named Tara McDonald.  When the crush in kids’ movies is a little blonde girl I uncontrollably roll my eyes.  I could forgive the boring casting choice if the actress was good, but she’s very bland.

Do I Like Anyone In This Movie?:  Yes, there is a great little spark plug of an actress that played one of the monster-busters, Alicia C. Del Aguila.  She is great fun to watch!  I foresee a Disney or Nickelodeon show of her own in the future.

Is It Too Scary for Little Kids?:  Nope.  If they were scared by Monsters, Inc., then there may be a problem, because that’s about where the design on the monster is.

Final Thoughts:  I’ve seen worse.  I’ve seen better.  Meh.

 

image credit:  pophorror.com

Leave a comment