Basmati Blues (2017)

What is This?:  Brie Larson goes to India to get an inroad into the rice trade for her genetically modified rice.  It is a classic fish-out-of-water story.  With singing.

Culturally…:  This is by far not a deep dive into Indian culture.  I’m sure some people will be offended.  My only issue is that the farmers didn’t actually read the contracts.  She doesn’t think the farmers are backward, or stupid.  She focused on the science, because she’s a scientist.  She isn’t there to save them from themselves or anything silly like that.  There are no weird epiphanies about Indian culture, because she was never negative about it in the first place.  Her biggest thing was eating with her fingers.  If you’ve never really done it?  That definitely throws you off.

Science Songs:  I love that the songs have scientific facts throughout.  It gives them a little extra uniqueness.

Hidden Talents:  Did I know that Donald Sutherland could sing?  As can Brie Larson!  And I’m so glad she made something fun after making Room and The Glass Castle.  Kong: Skull Island was a spectacle, but it wasn’t nearly as fun as this.

Enthusiastic Dancing:  Brie Larson clearly took dance classes at some point in her life, but is so stiff, even when she’s having fun, that I cringed a bit.  Then she was at a club, and instead of “dancing” they were all hopping to the fast beat and she finally loosened.

Aren’t We Evil?:  Yes, American companies can be “evil,” but I feel using corporate America as the bad guy is starting to be overdone.

Donald?:  Utkarsh Ambudkar is the romantic lead, and I’ve been waiting to see him again since the original Pitch Perfect.  He was Donald, and he was adorable in his glasses with an a cappella swagger.

Dishearteningly Predictable:  Nothing unpredictable happens in the movie.  The only thing I found surprising was that the main character, Linda, was so naive that she fell for a practical joke early on.

They Fight Pretty Cute:  Don’t we all love it when the characters have tiffs?  Then make their way back to each other?  These two are really cute together.

The Indian Zack Morris:  It took me a while, but it kept bugging me so I couldn’t ignore it: Saahil Sehgal looks like Mark-Paul Gosselaar.

And…:  Scott Bakula.  Who only dances a little at the end, so don’t tune in for that.  However, it is worth the whole thing to hear him sing at the end.

Final Thoughts:  I felt I’d seen this before.  The musical numbers were fun and not too prevalent.  Everyone was having fun, and you could tell.  It gives the whole movie great emotion.  You should absolutely see it!  But don’t take it too seriously.

 

image credit:  entertainmentvoice.com

Leave a comment